The American Library Association announced its big winners for the Caldecott and Newbery Awards today! The Caldecott is awarded to the best picture book of the year. The Newbery is awarded to the book that is considered the best contribution to children’s literature that year. So heeeere they are…!



I love this charming and witty story with great illustrations:

This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen



A sweet, funny and poignant book about a gorilla and a baby elephant that you may remember I posted about last spring:

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Lastly, it would be remiss of me not to mention one more book that was honored this year: Bomb by Steve Sheinkin. This non-fiction book “reads like an international spy thriller”, according to the School Library Journal, yet it is an historical book about the race to build (and steal) the world’s first atom bomb. There are many students (especially boys) who think they don’t like to read, but really they just haven’t figured out what they like to read. Some eventually find that they prefer non-fiction-and this book should interest middle schoolers and beyond. So far Bomb has become a National Book Award finalist and a Newbery Honor book, it’s been named Best YA Non-Fiction, and won the Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book.


Be sure to check them out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AND THE WINNERS ARE….

  1. Natalie padovano says:

    I’m glad because it was my favorite.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s