MARGARET’S BOOK REVIEW

Wonder: A Book By R.J Palacio

By: Margaret

The world is full of many wonders; God’s creations and each one of us are special. The book Wonder written by R.J Palacio truly is a wonder. When I first opened the book, I thought I would close it right away (meaning give up on it.) But no, I thought wrong. Before I knew it, I was attached to the book and couldn’t put it down.

There are numerous things that I love about this book. I think that Palacio’s creative writing kept me aware of what was going on in the book. I loved that the chapters weren’t 20 pages long, but that they were at most 2 pages long. The one thing about the chapters was that every time there was a new chapter, it was a new topic. Another fantastic thing that R.J Palacio did in her book is that she wrote in different points of view. This was a breath of fresh air, compared to other books I’ve read. I liked that she wrote from not just the main character’s (August’s) point of view, or just his friend’s points of views either, but also his sister’s friends and his sister’s points of view.

Wonder is an intriguing book that is overflowing with inspiration and scintillating writing. Auggie or August is a normal 10 year old boy. He likes to do normal things that normal ten year old boys like to do. He loves reading comics and is obsessed with Star Wars. He is homeschooled, but other than that, he is very normal. Well, except for one thing; his face is deformed. He has a loving sister named Olivia or Via who is very protective of Auggie. Their parents are Isabel and Nate Pullman who are also very loving and protective. They also have a dog named Daisy, who supports Auggie after he’s had rough days. This book is mainly about Auggie and his adventures as he enters fifth grade at Beecher Prep School. Auggie has many fears, but his main one is: he’s never been to a normal school before; his mom has always homeschooled him.  As Auggie progresses through the school year, he makes everlasting friendships, gets bullied by many kids, but he also learns to not be afraid of anything and to keep going, no matter how tough his days got. I think this is an important lesson that anyone can look to for help and guidance and that is why I would love to recommend this wonderful book to all readers.

What a wonderful job, Margaret! I have been trying to tell people to read this book, but it is even better coming from a fellow student. Read Wonder!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MARGARET’S BOOK REVIEW

  1. Leslie says:

    What a beautifully written book review! I am going to read this!!

    Like

  2. Great Job Margaret! I would love to read it!

    Like

  3. Margaret, Someone came in today to check this out after reading this review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

