Librarians Grapple With ‘Hunger Games’ Mania

Interesting article below from the School Library Journal about Hunger Games. As we are a K-8 school, I did buy the Hunger Games trilogy for our library last year (though I did not purchase the Twilight series). However, in our library we have a “Middle School” section which is for grades 6-8 only, so it is not available to the younger students.  In part because of the huge demand for The Hunger Games, I sent home permissions slips this year to 5th grade parents which, if signed, would allow the 5th graders to check out middle school books. What would I do if I had a middle school child now? It would totally depend on the child. Some can handle violence and disturbing situations and others can’t. Also, there is a big difference between reading something and seeing it on the screen. For my daughter I was fairly liberal with what she read and stricter about movies.

Librarians Grapple With ‘Hunger Games’ Mania.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Librarians Grapple With ‘Hunger Games’ Mania

  1. Maryann Marowski says:

    Thank you for your insights and for caring about our children’s well being. I just cringe when I see that my daughter choose this book over the many great books that are out there to read. I hope she realizes that it is a disturbing book and returns it to the library.
    Thanks for not banning the book, either. What kind of author and publisher would lure children into such an evil world?
    Maryann

    Like

  2. And you are a good mom for realizing that sometimes middle schoolers just want to read what everyone else is reading–it’s almost hard for them NOT to.
    I have to say, though, that I somewhat agree with you. I would have let my 8th grader read it, yet I do wonder why anyone would want to write a YA/middle school book about children killing children. It’s well-written and a good step above the vampire books, but very dark.
    It’s tough–it’s also great to have any book that get some students (especially some boys) reading.

    Like

  3. And thanks for reading the blog! 🙂

    Like

  4. You were pretty good about letting me read what I wanted but very strict on TV! 🙂

    Like

  5. Joe Prus says:

    SOUNDS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

